Training In Thailand: Practise what you teach

A lot of muaythai trainers teach you techniques which either they themselves don’t do in a fight. A trainer may ask you to lean back to evade a high kick but then you watch the same trainer fight and all he does is catch high kicks on his arm. Why is he not leaning back?

My trainer Fahsitan aka Kru Lek invited me to watch him fight last Thursday at Patong boxing stadium. Although he speaks very little English and I very little Thai, we seem to get along really well.

DSC_0011-2

 

I arrived at Patong boxing stadium (not bangla) to find Lek and a couple of the trainers waiting outside to walk me in.
This stadium has a really nice layout and a larger Thai audience. There’s even a runway from the changing room to the ring.

muay-thai-fight-in-patong

The audience were very educated. Cheering whenever a good technique was thrown. The atmosphere was fantastic! I would really love to fight here.

The fight itself went 5 rounds with Kru Lek looking very relaxed, taking his time and picking his shots. He swept his opponent with some gorgeous sweeps on multiple occasions in each round and hit him with some hard elbows and knees. The gamblers cheered loudly with every landed strike. The guy had a hell of a chin!

What was amazing about this fight was that all the techniques Kru Lek used were those he had me doing during padwork. The same knee, same elbow and same sweep. It was wondeful to see those techniques been used in live combat and to know they actually work.

A man came to the dressing room after the fight and gave Lek a huge tip. Apparently he had just won a massive side bet on Lek.
Eat, Learn, Fight

7 thoughts on “Training In Thailand: Practise what you teach

      1. that is cool! been a few months since your last fight, eh? i will be back in legacy on april. come around even for just a break!

      2. It has been ages! Spoke to the big boss about it and she didn’t want me to fight just for the sake of fighting. She wants to only pick challenging fights with bigger pulses for me to make me stronger and better. In my experience so I find it better to listen to her because she is always right

Leave a comment